And So, It Begins…

Two days ago I made a decision.

For as long as I can remember I have been writing. Creatively and factually. Anything from poetry to song lyrics to a review of a game I have finished playing or a restaurant I have visited to an in depth article on a subject that grabbed my passion at the time.

But, what good is writing when there is no one to read it? And what of my photography? I travel everywhere with my DSLR camera snapping shots, but I never share them with the world.

Needless to say, I am not necessarily a brilliant writer, nor photographer. Far from it, I have never had anyone to critique my efforts, so how would I ever know how to improve upon my work, where I went wrong, where I was right?

I have always hidden my creativity in the shadows, afraid of that critique, afraid my passions would fall flat with failure. But I could not hide any longer. Rarely a single day passes without my brainstorming ideas or writing paragraphs and paragraphs of words, rushing from my mind incessantly, without snatching my camera from its case and looking at my world through its lens, so I decided to take a step back and truly think about what I was doing.

This passion cannot die with critique, it can only grow stronger, and with my recent move to Margate, hailed by my friends and family as the “new start” that I so desperately needed, now seems the perfect time to release my creative energies unto the world.

Two days ago I made a decision. That decision was to grab ahold of my dream to become a professional writer and photographer – a professional journalist – and to never let it go.

So, as a first step, I have begun this Blog. Herein I shall post my ideas, share my passions, update friends, family, and hopefully in the future fans of my work on my progress, and post completed pieces for all to see.

I hope that my passions shine through and that you find it in your hearts to read what I have to say, view my work and give me the constructive critique that I need to push myself that extra mile to get to where I want to go. And I hope that someday I will get there with your help and your support.

Thank ye one and all.

6 thoughts on “And So, It Begins…

  1. Pingback: IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT: Big Changes Coming Soon! | Building The Dream

  2. Pingback: Getting Back On Schedule… | Building The Dream

Leave a Reply

