Article Progress – March 2012

This month might be the beginning of my journalistic journey, but I have been a busy bee every day. I have lots of ideas, and some are coming along into fruition quite nicely.

  • Margate Is My Home Nowthe story of a disabled citizen making a new start in one of the most “run down” cities in the country
        – A personal account of my move from London – where I have spent almost the entirety of my life – to Margate, one of the most “run down” towns in the country.
        – This was the first article that I penned after my move. I had been suffering writer’s block for quite some time in my old residency, so it seemed only natural when I was inspired by the change in surroundings and lifestyle that I write an article about it.
      – I am almost finished redrafting; adding finer details, shortening some of the longer paragraphs that seemed to upset the pacing. I hope to have this posted in the coming days.
  • Keeping Up Appearances : why having a brilliant successful television program is no excuse for poor production value
        -A discussion of how much of television seems obsessed with the highly budgeted series finale, and less bothered by overall production value, and how this effects the fans.
      – I have finished my first draft, but there seems to be something missing. I think this article needs a quote or two, so I am going to be “asking around” for fan opinions, and, if I feel bold enough, I may even send a few emails and ask for more “official” quotes from television studios.
  • Three Is The Magic Numberwhy series three is where good television becomes brilliant
        – A discussion of a theoretical “pattern” in television production where series three denotes bigger budget, “Special Guest Stars”, better writers, etc.
      – I have almost finished the first draft of this, though I lack a conclusive section for my article. I appear to have hit a brick wall in terms of where I want the article to actually lead, but I am determined to have it finished.

If any of my readers have any questions, creative contributions, comments of encouragement or general suggestions, please feel free to Comment. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Article Progress – March 2012

    • lol! Really? Wow, we are obscure!

      It certainly feels odd moving here after all that time in London. It very different. That is what my article is about – the adjustment from the busiest city in the country to a “run down” one where the high street shops are shutting down and there are barely any tourists, etc, etc, etc.

Leave a Reply

